African National Congress MPs on Tuesday voted to keep Jacob Zuma as South Africa’s president. The #ZumaVote results are: 198 no‚ 177 yes and 9 abstentions.
The total number of votes cast were 384.
This means that 40 ANC MPs rebelled against the ruling party.
The voting on the motion of no confidence in Zuma was held through a secret ballot in parliament.
Zuma’s opponents had needed 201 votes out of 400 for the motion to succeed.
The ANC has 249 seats‚ so all opposition members and at least 50 ANC MPs would have had to vote in favour of the motion for Zuma to be ousted.